Adventuring in New Zealand – Part the 9th

Here I was thinking that I wouldn’t walk that far today because I was spending the morning on a boat. Nope. I started by walking 2.5 km to the boat as the sun rose: 

 

Then I boarded the ferry, claimed a couch on the top deck, and took a nap. My not-a-cold is hitting its stride, with a sore throat and a bad headache. This nap also helped me avoid the open ocean and and waves that might or might have been there. I spent the last hour or so of the ride outside enjoying the sunshine and wind. We were in the Malborough Sounds, specifically the Queen Charlotte Sound. We disembarked in Picton, denoted by the green circle on the map:

 

This was a beautiful ride. 

 

 

After taking the bus from Picton to Renwick, I decided to take a walk around the neighbourhood. The neighbourhood, by the way, is the heart of the Marlborough wine region. Three wine tastings and many km later, I was very tired. The scenery and wines made it worth it. 

 

In general, lots of grapes, lots of mountains. Dark clouds started looming as I walked back to the hostel, so I went to the most English Country Pub to ever pub in any country. 

 

 

Beef stew, a local Pinot, and a roaring fire completed the evening. Throw in an early bedtime and I might be fully recovered from this not-a-cold tomorrow.  After walking 14.5 km, my feet will probably still be sore. 

~ by Genevieve on April 12, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
