Adventuring in New Zealand – part the 8th

I would like to preface this post with the declaration that I am not getting a cold. I refuse. 

Ok. Now let’s proceed. 

Today was my first sunny day in Wellington. And it was glorious. 

 

#nofilter

I could feel the achy not-a-cold setting in yesterday, so I slept in. Then, in an effort to not stress my system too much, I walked over to Cuba Street and ate brekkie at one of the “original cool cafes” in Wellington – Midnight Espresso. The bacon and egg bagel I had was good (I still don’t love bacon) and the juice was very good (I do love beetroot). I then wandered over to the harbour to go to the Museum of Wellington City and Sea. But that didn’t happen. 

For one, I was so excited to see the sun after several days. 

 

And I had a headache from my not-a-cold-I-don’t-know-what-you-are-talking-about. So I took some ibuprofen, bought an iced latte, and sat in the sun.  I also got a bit of Mother’s Day shopping done. I am so on top of things. 

Then I went to the activity of the day – a beer tasting. One of the many awesome parts of the Great Australian Beer Spec-Tap-ular (GABS for short) is the awesome people who work there. I’ve made several friends through the festival, including two who live in Wellington. And one of whom was running a Craft Beer College event today. She even reserved a seat for me. 

  

So I got to sample a bunch of beers from a local brewery and hang out at the cool kids table. The one where my other GABS-Wellington friend AND the brewer were sitting. Talk about the in-crowd. 

After we even sampled a sour beer featuring the (official? Unofficial? Anyone know?) fruit of NZ: the feijoa. If you are wondering, yes you pronounce the j. You also put the e before the i. 

  

I have not yet eaten a feijoa, only its derivatives in the form of ice cream and beer. So basically all the important ways, right?

~ by Genevieve on April 11, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
