Adventuring in New Zealand – part the 6th

Weta Cave is pretty neat. Now for those of you who are not as intimately aware of the New Zealand movie prop scene as I am (as of today), Weta Cave is the tourist arm of the Weta Workshop. And what, you ask, is the Weta Workshop? Why it is the prop/costume/set/prosthetic/cgi effect/monster/puppet workshop that has done work on small unknown films like the Lord of the Rings trilogy, the Hobbit (Peter Jackson is one of the cofounders), Avatar, District 9, assorted scenes from the Avengers, and more horror movies than I’ve ever heard of. Among others. 

   

 

Luckily I was able to get a ticket on a tour today. Unluckily, it was for 2 and a half hours from when I got there. There was a (very) mini museum and gift shop as well as a 30 minute DVD to kill time. (The DVD was pretty interesting). 

  

But once the DVD had been watched, and the gifts perused (postcards for $2.50?!?), I might have gone on a bit of a selfie binge with the statues they had scattered around. 

 

 

 

 

  

The tour itself was also fun. Our guide had worked on the Hobbit, specifically the Orcs. She is an expert in blood and gore and gross stuff. No photos were allowed, so you will just have to take my word about how cool it was. My take away it that I haven’t seen enough movies and making monsters is exactly as fun as it looks. 

Coming back into the city, I got on a different bus that took me to the  botanical gardens. They have a fantabulous view. 

  

And they are connected to the CBD by a cable car. So I took that down the hill, walked back to the hostel, and headed out for dinner. Tomorrow’s plans involve visiting (another) bird habitat and finding an Internet cafe to get some work done. And maybe brush up my CV to make it more monster-making-centric. I live a rough life 😉

~ by Genevieve on April 9, 2015.

One Response to “Adventuring in New Zealand – part the 6th”

  1. You have visited a lot of “caves” on this trip! I wondered how long it would be until you connected with someone who had been an extra in a film… Nice change from all of the natural wonders of New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

 
