Adventuring in New Zealand – part the third

Three words for you: 

Black. Water. Rafting. 

Seriously. It’s awesome. I wore a four piece 5mm wetsuit – overalls, a jacket, and a sock on each foot. (Parents, If you thought sting suits were bad, think again.) 

  

A helmet, a light, rubber boots, and an inner tube completed the ensemble. (The logo is for the Legendary Black Water Rafting Company which I highly recommend.)

  

We practiced jumping backwards off a small dock into a daylight lit stream. I say practiced because we later jumped backwards off of two waterfalls – one being at least a person high – in the dark in a cave. 

Needless to say, this was a little out of my comfort zone. So naturally I went first. This was not because I pushed my way to the front. Everyone else on the tour was in a group of people with at least one timid person. It was myself and two other girls from Boston at the front. (Represent.)

So I got to jump first. This was a really good turn of events because I couldn’t talk myself out of it. I can be very persuasive. Or very gullible. Depends on how you look at it. 

After wading and jumping and paddling and all the awesome bits, we got to the magical part. There had been a few glow worms along the way, but here there were tons. It was like stars in the sky in the outback, if they glowed a soft blue. There were con-glowworm-ations that could look like anything. I found an emu and leaf. We floated on our backs in a chain (rubber boots under the arms of the person in front), turned off the headlamps, and were pulled along through the darkness. It was magic. 

No cameras allowed on the tour, but here is a photo of a postcard (which you should receive in a few weeks, Madeline). 

   

Magic. Or larva poop. Isn’t science awesome?

~ by Genevieve on April 6, 2015.

One Response to “Adventuring in New Zealand – part the third”

  1. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

 
