I don’t think this means what you think it means…

There have been a few minor miscommunications that I have seen recently. First of all, I saw this sign on the way to work the other day:

Public hangings just aren't what they used to be...

Public hangings just aren’t what they used to be…

Advertising for the public hanging of Australia’s finest artists… Hmm… Isn’t that a little, I don’t know, <insert the name of your favorite political movement that disenfranchises artists>? My housemate assures me it was tongue in cheek. I was inclined to agree with her until I saw her shopping list the next day:

My housemate's shopping list.

My housemate’s shopping list.

SNAKES?!? She’s buying SNAKES? Now lollipops, I get. Musk sticks, I had to assume were some sort of solid perfume. But clearly she was planning on getting some solidified eau d’oxen, some candy, and then some snakes. We live in Australia. Doesn’t she know these things can be dangerous?

So I asked her not to bring dangerous creatures into the house unless they were going to fight the spiders in the bathroom – in which case I wanted to get some popcorn and watch the gladiator style battle that needs to happen. It turns out musk sticks were the key to this – they are a candy. Despite the fact I have lived here for almost two years, long thin gummy things are still gummy worms to me. Here they are gummy snakes (please note, I had actually bought a bag of gummy snakes THAT VERY DAY and still didn’t make the connection).

Musk sticks are, from my understanding of her description, like red vines but taste like musk. I figured “musk” must mean something else here than the “sweaty man” smell I associate it with. She brought home some musk life savors the next day for me to try. Turns out musk is the same in Australia as it is in the US. I think I’ll stick to the snakes.

~ by Genevieve on June 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
