Dust Devil – Not Just a Vacuum

Remember how I saw the dust devil back in July of last year? It was my first day of road tripping, I was dehydrated and terrified of having my car overheat in the Mojave desert, and then a dust devil pops up at a gas station in Arizona.

Dust Devil in Barstow, CA

Well, apparently they happen on other planets, too.

Dust devil on Mars.

How cool is that? The dark line is the shadow of the dust, which reaches up to 800 meters above the planet. It’s about 30 meters across at the core. Considering temperatures on Mars max out at about 81 degrees F (according to wikipedia), I doubt there would be a risk of my car overheating. [via]

~ by Genevieve on April 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
