Happy New Year!

Happy New Year! It was fun being among the first people in the world to celebrate the end of 2011 and the beginning of 2012. 2011 started out pretty terribly for me in January, bottomed out in April, and then has been on the rise ever since. A year ago, I had just gotten back from Egypt and I assumed I’d be in Santa Barbara for at least 4 more years, I was stuck working for a terrible advisor, I wasn’t sure when my next adventure would be, and I had no idea that 2011 would be any different than 2010. It was.

Thank you to family and friends (old and new) who made this year so memorable.

A friend posted this quote on his facebook wall today. I can’t think of anything more appropriate.

“In the middle of winter I at last discovered that there was in me an invincible summer.” – Camus

And I’d like to echo the rest of his wish: ‘Happy 2012, everybody. May we all find our invincible summers.’

Genevieve

Fireworks on the Yarra.

~ by Genevieve on January 1, 2012.

3 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Happy New Year! I’m currently only a couple hours behind you, in China.. where it is not summer, but still decently warm ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m glad to hear that things have been improving, and hope the trend continues.

  2. G, it’s so good to hear that 2011 is definitively better than 2010 (I’m speaking in school calendar years, of course.) Hope the longer you’re in Australia, the better it gets!
    PS I like the picture of you in your sunhat at the footy game, too.

Leave a Reply

 
