Road Trip Across America – Part the eighth

Mitchell, SD to Minneapolis, MN

Miles Driven: ~340

Today was both exciting and boring. The drive was boring. No profound revelations, just lots of bugs and prairie. I made it out of South Dakota, which was quite a relief. Minnesota showed promise, with lots of windmills just over the border, but they disappeared within ten minutes, and it was just prairie again. It didn’t help that I was on back country highways. I missed I-90 very quickly.

Driving across America - tilting at windmills?


So why wasn’t I on I-90, you ask? Well, there is an excellent series of books I read as a child, which you may have heard of, called the “Little House Books” by one Laura Ingalls Wilder. The last few books, “By the Shores of Silver Lake”, “The Long Winter”, “Little Town on the Prairie”, “These Happy Golden Years”, and “The First Four Years” all took place in and around the town of De Smet, SD. Since I was already in South Dakota, I figured I might as well stop by and visit the house that Pa built.

The House that Pa Built.

Laura never actually lived there – she was married two years before Pa started building it. She did live in the Surveyor’s House on the banks of Plum Creek. The surveyors (or someone) moved it into town in the 1890s, where it now stands for the purpose of mom-and-daughter tours. I sent my mom a post card. Hi mom!

The Surveyor's House (Pa didn't build this one).

After hours and hours and hours and hours of unmitigated prairie…

No house on this prairie.

… I arrived in the great city of Minneapolis to spent the evening with the superlative Dana. Dana is one of my favorite people in the world. If you don’t know her, you should. Because she’s awesome. We’ve been friends since we were five. Once I stopped being scared of how tall her parents are. It’s going to be a good weekend.

~ by Genevieve on July 8, 2011.

3 Responses to “Road Trip Across America – Part the eighth”

  1. Hello G-
    So glad I talked to you before I read about your rainy day drive! You have captured South Dakota so well. I love seeing the pictures of the house on Plum Creek. Not as cute as I pictured it to be but nice to know it is still there.

    We saw Peter and Nancy today in a sort of parallel visit.

    Enjoy a few days off the road.

  2. South Dakota was one of the most fascinating places I’ve ever driven through…the landscape is otherworldly. And then there’s mount rushmore, aka the greatest disappointment in american landmarks.

    The best part? The Buffalo Taco in the badlands… the served it on fry bread.

    Now my mouth is watering…

    Hope you’re enjoying your adventure!!

Leave a Reply

 
