Roommate Dinner

The roommates and I had a nice little dinner on Sunday night.  Kristen and Brian made a quiche.  It was lovely and perfectly cooked – a more difficult proposition than one might think.  I made a pasta salad inspired by Smitten Kitchen’s zucchini and almond pasta salad. Of course I changed the recipe and of course I forgot to take a picture (it took a little longer than I expected and we were hungry). I took out the parmesan (the quiche was quite rich), added half a can of white beans, put it all over ~8 cups of spinach, and topped with some chopped fresh basil. I put the pasta into the spinach while it was still warm in the hopes that it would wilt a little, but it didn’t wilt very much. I also added a dash of balsamic vinegar to the dressing. It was really really yummy, even though I slightly burned the almonds and then didn’t slice them.

To end it all, Amit made a cheesecake. I have had this cheesecake before – he made it for my birthday – but, man, I love this stuff. We put the raspberry goo I made last week on top as well as some fresh blueberries.

All around, a delightful meal.

We had this wine (which is really why I wrote this post). It was pretty good, but a little to hardy for the quiche/salad combination. It paired perfectly with the cheesecake and raspberry goo, though.

Good Wine.

~ by Genevieve on August 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
