Raspberry Vinegar

A few weeks ago the New York Times (which is, as most people who know me know, one of my all time most cited sources for everything) ran a “Recipe Redux” of a raspberry vinegar, originally published 110 years ago in the NYT. I really love raspberries and it sounded amazing. Who can resist a write up of “It was sweet and full-bodied, and the acidity wasn’t the ephemeral “ping!” of most berries but more of a fiery bellow. The taste was intense and addictive, and I wanted to drink the syrup as an elixir. And so I did.”

So, when I went to the store this weekend (before purchasing my new car, so I had to get a ride from a friend – thanks Anna!), and saw a beautiful pack of raspberries, I knew that I would not be keeping the bookmark open for long.

I decided to cut the quantities by a lot. If, for some reason, this didn’t work out, I didn’t want a) to have wasted a quart and a half of wonderful summer berries, or b) to then have 2 quarts of potentially disgusting red liquid that tasted like rancid raspberries. I opted for the following quantities:

Raspberry Vinegar
1 cup fresh raspberries (minus the few I tasted for “quality control”)
~3 Tbs Red wine vinegar (it doesn’t convert exactly when you sixth the recipe, but this seemed to work)
scant 1 cup sugar

 

That’s it! Three ingredients!

As per the instructions, I put the berries in the vinegar in a pyrex bowl, covered it, and put it in the fridge. The recipe said to let it “masticate” (one of my dad’s favorite words) for three days. I helped it along by mushing up the mixture (which was really red) a few times, giving the juiced more opportunities to meld.

Then, last night, I got to take them out, put the mix through a sieve, and taste the results.

image

As you can tell, I really like Pyrex.

Ooey-gooey Raspberry Goodness

Ooey-gooey Raspberry Goodness

I ended up with a little more than 3/4 cup of red goo. The ratio of goo to sugar should be ~4:5, so I put in just under 1 cup of sugar. I simmered them for ~10 minutes until the sugar was completely dissolved, and then let cool for a little bit. I transfered it into a bottle I bought last week at the recycling/art store downtown (which I cleaned really well) and let it cool completely.

image

Adding the sugar

Lots of sugar!!!

image

Nicely bottled.

And now I have raspberry vinegar! It tastes really good on a spoon, and I added it to my yogurt this morning (along with fresh peaches and almonds). Definitely one of the better breakfasts I have had in a while. It is a lot thicker than I had imagined. Next time I might add some water to it during the dissolve-the-sugar phase. Next up: adding it to brownies.

Update: I am now looking at the picture in the times recipe and it is far more clear and liquid-y than mine. Next time I will clearly have to dilute it.

image

Tom Schierlitz for The New York Time.

~ by Genevieve on August 12, 2010.

One Response to “Raspberry Vinegar”

  1. […] before – he made it for my birthday – but, man, I love this stuff. We put the raspberry goo I made last week on top as well as some fresh […]

Leave a Reply

 
