Rice Pudding

I was kind of in a rush last night to get to a friend’s house and I completely forgot to take pictures of this, but I am sure you can imagine what it looks like. Rice pudding doesn’t vary too much in appearance. I adapted a recipe from Bon Appetit courtesy of Epicurious. It was wonderful. Of course we were all stuffed by the time dessert came around, but we managed to put some of this away anyway (upside – rice pudding for breakfast!)

Rice Pudding with Chai Spices
5 cups whole milk
1 cup basmanti
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice

Next time I will also add the 1/4 cup of crystalized ginger that I forgot to buy in my search for cardamom yesterday. At Trader Joe’s they didn’t sell it, at Vons, I had the choice of a $12 bottle or an $18 bottle. I opted for the co-op where you can buy spices by the scoopful, and bought about half an ounce for $1.70. The grocery store was charging $7-9 an ounce! I mean, it tastes good, but it’s not as though we are waiting for the East Indian Company ships to get back, hoping they haven’t been attacked by pirates.

But I digress, to make the pudding, combine the milk, rice, sugar, and salt in a pot. Bring it to a boil, take it down to a simmer, stir until ready (~45 minutes), then add in the spices.

It was good.

~ by Genevieve on August 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
